The Stone Called Pride

movie curtains

 

I once read somewhere the phrase: “Pride is the stone over which  many people stumble.” I remember saying to myself that: “Well, to some, it’s the rock in which they stand tall.” I remember believing that pride is not such a bad thing. That it can be used as a weapon to achieve our goals and fend off critics. Well, I still believe that there is a little bit of truth into that but I recently learned that it is a double-edged blade, a big gun with a heck of a recoil.

All of us feel pride. When we accomplish goals and surpass our own expectations. And this is good, it fills us up and motivates us further to do and be more. But a downside to this is overconfidence, which is the result of pride. We feel superior, which clouds our perception and sends us to an inevitable conclusion, the “stumble”.The stumble, I define it as an event which ends in a tragedy. Pride of course is the root of all this and only recently was I enlightened into this truth.

I became overconfident, refusing to study in the midst of the midterm exams. I was so full of myself, thinking that I have it all under control. Then, the crimson curtain of life was set aside and the tragic play began. I stood there, eyes gazing into the horizon, mind floating in the void. No memories, no ideas, no visions. I was in shock, My thought process malfunctioned. I was trying to remember, trying to go back in time and perceive things clearly. But I was too late, I have stumbled over a stone and now I have to live with the consequence no matter how tragic…

Leave a Reply

